my diary: post 7

October 22, 2009


In a few more weeks I will probably be approaching the half way mark in the course.  It seems that as each day goes by the more I learn and the more that I want to learn about photography.  As I mentioned in my diary post 5 great insight into the world of photography can be gained by doing this course.  Also, I have  found that the course has prompted me to analyse my choice of subject for potential images. This analysis of subject  selection is  not as much in the project work, as freedom of choice of  subject is somewhat restricted by the brief for the project, but it is more about when I am taking photographs for assignments or when I am totally absorbed in the world of  photography, my camera and the subject.  In order to start this analysis I listed the subjects that I seem to be naturally drawn to, together with the collective qualities that these subjects/pictures often hold  :-

  • doors;   old peeling paint, dull unsaturated colours, unadorned, their framing- stone/brick.
  • chairs:  old or modern.
  • trees;  in lines, obvious shape, shadows.
  • countryside;  fields, grass, open space, old buildings. 
  • people/children;  particularly the old and the young.
  • animals; within natural surroundings.
  • towns and cities; undeveloped areas, people doing their everyday work, ports.

Firstly, I should say that the words ” choice of subject ” are best described as a captivation of these subjects.  I don’t go out with the aim of finding the above to photograph, it is rather that the subject seems to find me. Secondly, I know that I have an innate love and appreciation for light, colour and texture and these three qualities have, I believe, a great influence when my captivation for these subjects is aroused. 

Among the list of seven subjects there are four( the bottom 4) of which have a very general category. A desire to photograph, let’s say, towns and cities doesn’t hold any mysteries.  Undeveloped areas, people doing their everyday work and  busy ports offer a great deal of interest within a photograph.  I could go further with this analysis of my photographs that fit within this category by examining the common visual elements of interest within each of my photographs, but for now, this is more of a general examination rather than an examination in great depth. But, the question is why do I have this fascination in my world of photography for doors, chairs and trees?  The three categories that have very defined and clear subjects.

I have always loved trees. For me their longevity, imposing stature and presence seems to hold a kind of  uncanny insight into our world.  I love the different colours and textures of tree barks. Trees offer us beautiful colour through the seasons and welcome shade from the burning sun in summer.  I love the sprawling shadows of trees and the tree’s branches.  And we must not forget that if it wasn’t for trees we wouldn’t exist!  So, with this examination of my appreciation of trees and their undeniable qualities I can see why I have a penchant towards photographing trees. But, when it came to examining my leaning towards capturing  chairs and doors I had to dig really deep!

Chairs often have beautiful form and shape. Chairs in a photograph evoke the thoughts of people resting and thinking – who were these people? What were their thoughts?  Old doors ( which I love to photograph) have an enclosing rectangular shape. The rectangular shape mirrors the shape of the picture frame giving an image depth. Old doors can seem welcoming or can seem  hostile to any outside presence.  The thought of Pandora’s box comes to mind- if the door was to be opened what would be revealed? Who has or who had the key to the door. Old wooden doors often have beautiful colour and texture. Is the door that I wish to capture telling a story?

 Having examined my thoughts on the qualities of doors in particular, I can better understand why I have a fascination for taking photographs of them.  When I see a door enhanced with the beauty of light and texture together with the qualities of a beautiful colour and the mysterious qualities that an old door can hold, for me, I have a beautiful image with a story to tell and I know why!

So, now it is back to more picture taking and more project and assignment work.

Thank you for reading.

Speak to you later, Robina x.

One Response to “my diary: post 7”

  1. JokerXL Says:

    That’s quite an analysis!

    I have the same thing with (old) doors. The textures, the hues of faded paint or sun-bleached natural wood-grain. I think it has to do with the natural frame that a good weathered, old, solid door finds itself within. A neat little package.

    Trees too, close up (texture and shape of bark), silhouetted against a blue sky, in the distance breaking up a skyline.

    I think you may need to see someone about the chair-thing though, that’s a little peculiar.


Leave a comment