my diary: post 5.

September 26, 2009


For this diary post I really don’t know where to start!

Firstly, I can tell you that Assignment 1 has been completed, posted to my tutor and my tutor has reported back to me with a detailed report of my work!  I had been very anxious about receiving the first critique of my work, but I was very pleasantly surprised to find that my tutor thought that overall I had produced a very competent piece of work!  Norman ( my tutor ) had obviously studied my work in great depth.  His constructive comments and critique of my work will prove to be very useful for further projects and assignments.

Now that I have assignment one behind me and I have had confirmation that I have an eye for an image, I feel that I have been injected with a very welcome boost of confidence and energy!  Looking back at my last diary post I must confess that I sounded pretty tired and dispirited.  If  anybody is reading this and is thinking about doing a similar course, I would recommend it all the way, but don’t think for a minute that it would be an easy ride! If you really want to learn about the art of photography one has to put their all into this course!  You have to have a love for the art, you have to work very hard and you have to be prepared for the ups and downs.  If you take all this on board you will be well rewarded with great insight into the wonderful world of photography.

I am about a quarter of the way through the course and my knowledge and understanding of the art of photography has increased tenfold.  I have started to look at an image completely differently to how I would have looked at an image before. A good shot is not just a “good shot” anymore – it has so much more to offer and appreciate!  The appreciation of the composition of a shot, the way objects are placed within an image, the light and the use of colours, lines and shapes. The appreciation that the photographer behind the camera has such skill and talent. The appreciation of the different styles, techniques and approaches to taking a photo that various photographers have.  It is so exciting to think that I have so much more to learn!

Since posting my last diary I have been to England. We have a very beautiful park next to us. I spent a couple of hours in the park just taking photos- not thinking about assignments or projects, just me with my camera.  I enjoyed it so very much and took some good shots. But, more importantly, I felt a lot more at ease with my camera, and strangely enough I seem to see so much more within the landscape and within my surroundings than I ever did see before. Learning about the art of photography certainly teaches you to open your eyes and appreciate the beauty that our planet offers!

Hasta luego

Robina x

P.S. Lets hope that I am on an up and not a down on the next post!

One Response to “my diary: post 5.”

  1. Marty Says:

    Here, here.

    It’s certainly not a course to embarked upon lightly, it takes an awful lot of time & effort to get the most out of it.

    I agree too with your comment about how it changes the way you look at an image now. Before it was just “a good image”, something that appealed. Now we know WHY it’s a good image, WHY it appeals and how to reproduce that appeal in any pictures we take in future.
    There’ll be a lot more; “oh that’s a good shot Robina” and “I do like this one” in future. The code has been cracked.
    🙂


Leave a comment